Omnilert now includes the ability to schedule the delivery of a message. To view and/or modify upcoming or past scheduled messages, visit the Scheduler on the main menu of the administrator's portal.
The "Active" scheduled messages will be sent at their scheduled date and time.
The "Inactive" scheduled messages will not be sent. They are suspended pending further review or editing.
You will see a list of scheduled messages along with their scheduled send date and time.
Editing a scheduled message
To edit a message before its scheduled send time, simply click on the desired message in the list. You will be able to adjust several options on the following tabs:
- Details: The name and description of this scheduled message.
- Message: The message itself and its composition options.
- Schedule: The scheduled future date and time when the message will be sent.
Adjust the settings for the desired message and then click Update schedule to save the changes.
Delete or inactivate a scheduled message
To delete or inactivate a scheduled message, select the desired message(s) in the list of currently active scheduled messages and then choose Inactivate or Delete from the menu at the top of the list.
Deleting a scheduled message will completely, permanently delete that message. (There is no "undelete" option. You'd need to re-compose it later if so desired.)
Inactivating a scheduled message will simply move it to the "inactive" list, preventing it from sending. Inactive scheduled messages won't actually be sent. This provides an option to store that message for later review and possible re-scheduling without deleting it.
Why schedule a message for later?
In most instances, the message needs to be sent right when they're composed. For that, you just send a message normally, using the Send Message button.
The Scheduler functionality is designed to help send out alerts later, at a set time. They most common use-case will be weather closures and/or announcements of a non-urgent manner.
It's not uncommon to decide that a location will close long before a notice actually needs to be sent. In such a case, you can schedule delivery for later instead of sending it right away.
This exciting new capability allows you to "set it and forget it" in those instances where you need to compose your message now and have it send later.